Adobe Catalyst: new e-learning authoring tool?

December 9, 2008 at 9:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

 

I just watched a great demo of Adobe’s new baby called Flash Catalyst. What blew me away was the interoperability of the files between all Adobe products – the files go back and forth between Catalyst, Illustrator, Photoshop etc in what seems to the end user a seamless process. Catalyst lets you create interactive content without coding..nice!

Watch the Flash Catalyst 

So while I was watching this I thought “wow I can totally use that to create e-learning”. I think this could be the stepping stone between a rapid authoring tool and Flash (with a tool like Lectora somewhat in the middle).

Now if only I could have the Photoshop skills the guy in the video has !

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey–glad you liked the video! To be fair, though, I didn’t actually create the Photoshop design in the video–our friends at Gotomedia designed and built those assets. (The part in the demo where I said “I created this design in Photoshop” was just demo-ese for “I’m playing the part of a visual designer in this workflow”.)

    nj
    Adobe Flash Catalyst team

  2. Hey nj i think i need to pick up on some of that demo-ese language 😉 Great work on the vid though and i’m looking forward to playing with Adobe Catalyst !

  3. Yeah, I would be really interested to hear from some of the Adobe evangelistas about how Flash Catalyst might be used by e-learning developers to embed SWF interactions into Captivate (and other rapid e-learning software) projects.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

