So, how did you get started… and what difference has it made?

May 19, 2008 at 10:55 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I’ve been a fan of Karyn Romeis’ blog over at http://karynromeis.blogspot.com/2008/05/so-how-did-you-get-started-and-what.html for a while now so I thought it’s high time I jumped into some of her conversations ! She’s asking the following questions for her dissertation – here are my answers:

  • How did you get started with social media?

It started through curiosity – I noticed that a few sub cultures I was interested in (GLTB) where creating communities through blogs – I started lurking. After that YouTube exploded, MySpace appeared and Facebook took off! My focus was on the social “staying in touch” side and learning about non mainstream topics.

  • What was your introduction, and how did the journey unfold?

I had a list of blogs that I read on a regular basis – main problems at the time were that I had them bookmarked on my home PC and had to log in everyday to see whether they had been updated. This eventually got too tiresome, that’s until I discovered RSS and Bloglines! I then discovered De.licio.us, so reading blogs and bookmarking became much easier to do..from any PC!

I then made the jump from lurker to participant – Connecting to people through Linkedin, starting commenting on blogs and using My Co.mments – then made the big jump to having my own blog and using Tumblr to take notes etc.

Still haven’t got the hang of Twitter..

  • What difference has it made in your professional practice?

Huge difference! It keeps me in touch with what is happening in my field – from reading other people’s experiences, ideas, to discussing theories, methods and trends.

It’s helped me reflect on my own practice and think about what i do from a different perspective.

It’s also helping me network with like minded people from all over the world and share my experiences.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for this, Debora, this is a great insight. I have to say that I think you are the first person in history every to refer to yourself as a “fan” of anything I’ve done. I’m tickled pink!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

